John Barthelmes - Artistic and Music Director

john b.jpg

John has been teaching, directing and performing in Rochester since he moved here in 1996.

John devotes his time to many theatre and dance groups. He is a regular performer with Out of the Box Improv, and Joey and Maria's Comedy Wedding with Great Lakes Productions, where he is also their director. John has been featured in productions performing in Montreal, Milwaukee, Las Vegas and New York City. He has also recently relaunched "The Happy Pirates!"

During the day John is an instructor of Computer Science and Acting at St. John Fisher College.

John's greatest joy is working with children in theatre. He owns his own studio, Spotlight Studios in Fairport and can be found directing school productions and workshops all over Monroe and Wayne counties!

John has been directing with GCYT since Aladdin in 2005 and he has loved every minute of it! John dedicates all his work to his parents who are forever an inspiration to him, especially his mom who never missed a show John was in.

Thanks KZB and MKB!


Kaitlyn Barthelmes - Choreographer

Kaitlyn has loved every minute of these past twelve seasons at GCYT! Kaitlyn first stepped foot on stage in sixth grade and hasn’t left! She can be seen all over the Rochester Area choreographing, directing, stage-managing, technical operating, costuming and performing!

Kaitlyn holds a Bachelor’s degree in Arts for Children and has loved teaching students of all ages to sing, act and dance! Groups she works with are: Spotlight Theater Arts, Great Lakes Production, Gananda Middle School, Wayne Middle School, Victor Middle School, Victor Parks and Rec, Webster Parks and Rec, Brighton Summer Theater and here at Gananda Community Youth Theater.

She can also be seen getting married regularly with “Joey and Maria’s Comedy Wedding” and making people laugh with Out of the Box Improv. She is also excited to be married to one of the newest Happy Pirates!

Kaitlyn would like to thank John and Madison for being her brightest stars!


Meet The Board

Stephanie Rothwell: President

  • Board member since 2015

Brandi Wallace: Treasurer

  • Board member since 2013

Aimee Campbell: Secretary

  • Board member since 2012

Rebecca Lathrop: Costumes

  • Board member since 2016

Eva Burns: Advertising & Programs

  • Board member since 2016

Laurie Kuntz: Concessions

  • Board member since 2016

Chris VanAntwerp: sets & props

  • Board member since 2017

yelena Keeney: photography/slideshow

  • board member since 2017

stephanie bonacci: tickets

  • board member since 2017